Liebster Blog Award

 

My good friend Kelly over at Catch Kelly’s Fancy nominated me for a super fun blogging award last week. The Liebster Award is for blogs with less than 200 followers, and it works like this: I tell you 11 facts about myself, answer Kelly’s 11 questions, then post my own set of questions and nominate more blogs! As I’m a bit of a blogging novice, I am going to satisfy the first two criteria, but hold off on making my own nominations since the only blogs I follow that qualify for the award have already received it. So. Here we go.

Some stuff about me

1. The idea of being perceived as unintelligent is abhorrent to me. I graduated from the kind of high school where going on to a four university and graduating within four years made you the exception rather than the rule and I was certainly not one of the exceptions. I’ve spent every minute since I left Florida trying to make up for that.

2. I get a huge kick out of being able to shop in the kids’ shoe department. Some of my favorite boots ever had a teeny Disney Shake It Up logo above the heel that was not noticeable at all, but I thought it was hilarious.

3. I just found out that I’m allergic to trees. All of them.

4. I think maybe I’m a better person than I used to be, but old me had some good qualities and I’m struggling with trying to figure out how to incorporate them into new me.

5. I didn’t get into the one grad program that I applied to which led to a complete breakdown in an East Village coffee shoppe. Not one of my finer moments.

6. I’m not a fan of most grown up literature. I tend to shop almost exclusively in the YA Paranormal section. And I’m not ashamed. Mostly. The redeeming fact here is that I despised Twilight.

7. I miss the sunshine, but I will never move back to Florida.

8. I just found out that teacup pigs aren’t actually a thing and it broke my heart.

9. I’m fascinated by the idea of Christianity and witchcraft being combined, but my upbringing has thus far prevented me from giving the idea more than a cursory amount of attention. I think embarking on a study of this idea will be a spiritual journey for me and I’m not in a place where I’m ready to undertake that. However, I feel pretty certain that at some point in my life I will be and it will be fascinating.

10. Sometimes I miss Albany and think it was a mistake to leave.

11. I have an uncanny ability to track down the best chai latte in any zip code.

Kelly’s Questions

1. Do you consider yourself an introvert, an extrovert, or an ambivert (an equal mix)? Why?

-This is actually complicated for me. I used to be an extrovert, but over the past several years that has changed. However, I recently learned that I have a thyroid problem which may have contributed to some of that because it can cause depression and anxiety. So as of today I’m more strongly oriented to introversion, but I think perhaps that will change once my body starts acting the way it’s supposed to.

2. What was your dream career as a child?

-Well, when I was in third grade I started reading Lurlene McDaniel books and decided I was going to cure childhood cancers. Then I hit puberty and got shallow and squeamish and settled on being an actor.

 

3. What was the last book you read that made you cry?

-The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; or, Why I’m Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog by Jen Lancaster. My tears, though, were tears of mirth. I spent a couple of evenings cackling to myself over this book certain my wife was going to wake up and think I was insane. Literally, I was in hysterics. So. Good.

 

4. If you could have unlimited free ice cream or unlimited free cake, which would you choose and what flavor?

-Ice cream! Ben & Jerry’s Imagine Whirled Peace. This stuff is like crack.

 

5. Where’s the farthest you’ve ever traveled?

-Vegas for my honeymoon. I’m plotting a trip to Europe in that ever distant “someday” though.

 

6. If you could have lunch (or drinks) with an author of your choosing, who would you pick?

-I would LOVE to have drinks with Lev Grossman so I could ask him why he wrote a book that took all of the joy out of magic.

7. What’s your favorite movie based off of a book? Least favorite?

-Favorite is definitely Perks of Being a Wallflower- I think it was exceptionally well done. Least favorite includes the first several Harry Potter movies. Don’t get me wrong, I loved them, but I also thought they left out some really great stuff. I mean seriously, we’re a nerdy fandom- we’ll gladly sit though a longer movie if you’ll just include ALL THE THINGS! I was horribly disappointed not to see the Potions logic game at the end of Sorcerer’s Stone.

8. Do you have a favorite word? If so, what is it?

-I like so many words! Facetious might be one of my very favorites, though. I’m also a big fan of Ethereal and Automaton. Ooh, and Whimsical!

 

9. If everyone around you suddenly burst into song and choreography, would you join in or run in the opposite direction?

-I wish that would happen every day of my life. I would so join in.

 

10. Where’s your favorite place to read?

-My favorite ever was at Emack and Bolio’s in Albany, sitting at one of their outside tables under the trees. Perfection. These days I settle for my balcony if the weather is nice.

 

11. Which fictional character would you marry if you could?

-I’m gonna give the cop-out answer on this one and say I’m already married. (Mostly because I can’t think of any answers that aren’t predictable and a tad cheesy. :p )

 

Nominations and questions to follow eventually!

Leave a comment